DIY Chocolate Face Mask

About a week ago I decided I was bored, and with the rainy weather, what better thing to do than make my own chocolate face mask! I jumped on Youtube right away, and after a couple of different types – hot chocolate and cocoa – I decided I would be extra clever and blend two! It turned out okay, so I thought I’d share it with anyone reading (warning, the photos were taken on my phone and are not that great :P) Also please don’t do this if you are allergic to any of the ingredients, I don’t want you to have a bad reaction and die. Thanks.

Step One:
Get your ingredients. Don’t worry too much about amounts, I just kind of made it up as I went.
Here’s the list:
Milk
Salt
Chocolate
Cocoa
Honey
One egg
Ground oats

20160501_160952 [9065]2

Step Two:
Melt your chocolate and honey over a pot of boiling water, in a glass bowl that sits just above the water, not touching! While this is happening, mix the remainder of your ingredients, excluding the oats.
I didn’t take a photo, but here’s one I got from the internet to demonstrate:

meltty

Step Three:
Once the chocolate is melted completely, remove it from the heat and the pot, carefully the steam is hot! Mix in your oats thoroughly,  then add the rest and mix it together. This is what it may look like:


I applied it with an old make-up brush, but you could just use  your fingers if you like. The texture is interesting, and it can be messy, but it smells wonderful and after about twenty minutes wash it off with a warm cloth. Your face should feel soft and smooth, mine did!

Storage:
Because it contains milk and eggs, I stored it in the fridge, in a sealed container. The chocolate does cause it to solidify, but don’t fret! I found that by leaving it to return to room temperature and adding a tiny, I repeat TINY amount of milk, and mixing thoroughly, I came up with a similar consistency that actually I found applied better than the first time. Any excess I didn’t use went straight back in the container.

I thought this was something fun you could do with friends, or in this case a Mother, spoil her with this delicious smelling facial, and spoil yourself at the same time.
Let me know if you try it, things you added or changed, and if you liked it.

Have a great Mother’s Day and weekend, Emily

 

Leave a Reply

